2014 WRDA News

Please support our advertisers & sponsors

wpe89.jpg (49034 bytes)
Join our Sponsors & advertisers-contact wrda@ntlworld.com

The 2014 Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Championship
Round 7 & 8 Sunday 5th October – Pembrey Circuit


Keith White becomes the 2014 Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Champion after winning both the final races of the season at Pembrey on Sunday with a power display of driving!

Entry & Practice

There was a pleasing entry of 23 cars (and 24 drivers) with a sprinkling of returnees to join the regulars and a few notable new drivers! Just to clear up the 23 cars & 24 drivers mystery, Ray Hanson was having a run in Glynne Jones BMW in the first race of the day, as a thank you from Glynne for all his work and support over the years & then Glynne himself would drive in the second race! Notable newcomers were Susanne Jones , who had moved over from her Marshalling duties for her race debut, and Ashley Davies & Damien Locotano who has plenty of grasstrack experience behind him. 2014 will go down as a year with an horrendously wet & stormy winter, followed by long spells of sunny, warm & hot weather. However after a very sunny & dry September, October started with a lot of heavy rain early on Saturday, and an early morning heavy shower on Sunday left the track soaking wet, although the official description was ‘Drying’! This produced some surprising results and on pole was Ben Scrivens (one of Dave Krayems spanner men) in Daves’ Ex Keith Butcher red Ginetta G50 with a time of 66.47 secs. Ben seemed untroubled by the wet and he was over 2.5 sec ahead of Mike Cond who was second on the grid! 3rd was the very quick turbo Mini of Jim Lyons, with Keith Butcher 4th in his Class D Nissan Primera. 5th was fellow Class D driver & current points leader Keith White, and 6th was Andy Williams who took the Class CS pole. Cond, Lyons, Butcher, White and Williams were all in 69 second bracket! Neil Watts who went into the race in 2nd place in the title standings and with an outside chance of the title was several seconds off that pace in 7th place. 8th was Endaf Owens with his space-frame Mini, just ahead of Ashley Davies and his Mini, who was the first of the weekends newcomers.  In 10th place and making a welcome return and ‘On the pace’ was Mike Edgell with his classic Mini making it a midfield Mini trio! 11th fastest was Paul Flinders who took the Class BT Pole in his MR2.  Paul was another outsider for the championship, if Keith was too hit trouble! 12th was Rhodri Jenkins and his turbo Civic. 13th was Ken James and his Locost. 14th was  our 2nd newcomer Craig Wright and his Pogo 306. Huw Morgan was 15th, just ahead of Tyrone Lufferelli and his Pogo 106 GTi. Next up and fastest lady in the wet was newcomer Susanne Jones.  Susanne had been very nervous as this was her first ever race, having only just completed her ARDS course.  Having said that to qualify in 17th and set a faster time than Melissa Lufferelli, who has shown herself to be a very fast driver, should have settled the nerves for sure.

Phil Bendall was next in 19th  with Ray Hanson in 20th in Glynnes BMW.  Verity Banks was 21st , and the last of our newcomers Damien Longatano 22nd on his race debut! Last and by no means least was Geraint Rees! Geraint had been brave enough to risk starting the session on slicks! After only 3 laps he found the gamble wasn’t going pay off, however as always genial Geraint was not downhearted!

Race 1 15 minutes + 1 lap


Race 2 15 minutes + 1 lap