The 2019 Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Championship starts this weekend!

The 2019 Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Championship starts this weekend with 2 races on the National (i.e old) circuit.
The championship, organised by the Welsh Racing Drivers Association is now in its 29th year and Mike Moss was the Champion last year in his Caterham, and will carry the Number 1 on his car, to indicate he is the current champion!
Mike was a track-day driver who made the switch.
There are several returning drivers with new cars, but Damian Longotano will be racing his Caterham SE in which he won the Blake Edwards Trophy for the most wins! The trophy is named after the winner of the first championship in1991. Damian scored  his wins only after several tussles with Chris Everill, who returns with his Ginetta G50.  Local Bridgend boy Nick Crompton returns with his Mitsubishi Evo 3 and is likely to feature at the front.
Also likely to feature at the front is Keith Butcher, who was the series champion in 2007, and has an Audi, but has not driven this new car before at Pembrey.  Keith should be right up at the front, although he thinks it unlikely he will fall foul of the 60 second rule! This rule is designed to make sure that everyone is able to have a good race, meaning that the cars in the smaller engine classes, are not lapped too many times!  Keith says ‘ You have to drive really quickly to lap in the 60 second bracket’
In the classes the letter ‘T’ means the cars will be racing on Treaded tyres and ‘S’ means the cars are racing on Slicks. Class M is for cars using motor-cycle engines. Class D is for other cars that retain the looks or pedigree of a road-car. Points are scored based on the number of entries in each class. All races are rolling starts.
Full details are in the 2019 regs 2019 WSSCC Regulations

Points go down to 10th place in each class.

4 + starters   Ist = 20 points, 2nd = 18 pts 3rd = 16pts etc

3 starters   Ist = 18 points, 2nd = 16 pts 3rd = 14pts

2 starters  Ist = 16 points, 2nd = 14 pts

1 starter = 14pts

Lap Records (National Circuit 1.46 miles (2.343 Km)

Class Driver Class Record Date set
AT Sam Summerhayes 1.07.000 8/16/2015
AS Craig Freeman 1.07.149 6/30/2013
BT Tyrone Luffarelli 1.07.579 23/04/2017
BS Mike Moss 1.04.811 19/08/2018
CS Jason   Davies 1.00.761 23/04/2017
CT Dave Scaramanga 1.07.181 23/04/2017
D Keith White 1.00.441 05/8/20112
M Mike Cond 1.00.872 6/30/2013
For more details about joining in with the championship,  contact Alan Jenkins on 07753 617087 or Robert Allender on 01792 791686 or 07722261988
More details about joining in is also on The Welsh Racing Drivers Association website