The History Of WSSCC

1990 – The Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Championship begins!

The results of the races have been lost, but Blake Edwards was declared the first WRDA Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Champion.
Blake also won in 1991 by winning all the 5 races held (all at Pembrey).
This lead to ‘The Blake Edwards Award for the Most outright wins in a season’ which is still currently competed for.
The 2021 winner was Chris Everill.

1991 Welsh Championship Results
Blake Edwards won, Tony Williams was 2nd, with Colin Williams and Ted Williams joint 3rd (none of the Williams were related to each other)
Mike Hopkins won Class B, driving Robert Allenders' Dolomite Sprint as Robert was acting as Championship Co-ordinator.
Mike was 2nd overall on the non-championship Handicap race after leading for most of the race!
Andrew Wilson won Class C
Martin Davies entered the final round in his stage-rally based Ford Escort RS2000!

In 1992 the winner was Colin Gunderson, who also set the Class fastest lap in every race
This has lead to the Colin Gundersen Trophy for the class fastest laps at Pembrey which is currently competed for.
Damian Longotano is the current holder.

The current Class Structure was devised in 2008.